Emily <3… a bit about me!

It all started with a pair of permanently turned out feet. Over a decade of dancing later, I’m thrilled to be studying at the University of Rochester and even more excited about all of the opportunities I have had to dance! I am originally from Danbury, CT where I studied jazz, tap, ballet and lyrical and now in college, I have ventured into the realm of contemporary to find that I absolutely love the style. On campus, I dance with Louvre Performance Ensemble and Ballet Performance Group and I have choreographed sixteen pieces between the two groups.

Outside of dance as I like to say since it honestly consumes most of my time in college, I am a senior chemistry major with a minor in psychology and a cluster in philosophy and teaching. I was accepted into the 2012 Teach for America corps and I will be teaching science at a school in Brooklyn next year. I am pumped for the big move to the city and will definitely continue dancing in as many ways possible once I’m there.

I have been looking forward to this weekend for weeks and I’m incredibly thankful that the administration at UR is supporting the dance community on campus. There are a lot of students with plenty of passion for dance so I’m pumped to be representing our school and learning a ton this weekend!

Leave a Reply

